Change Everything

Posted on Updated on

rabbit and pooh

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love when people take things and make them their own. I was revisiting a cake recipe today because I found my first two bakings too “wet” for my liking. I checked out the comments on the online recipe and sure enough there were some good suggestions. There were also several readers who wrote along the lines of, ” I loved this recipe – I just changed …” followed by a list of 4 or 5 things. This happens all the time with posted recipes, often the recipe is pretty unrecognizable by the end ! My smile for the day.

All this reminded me of leading art workshops. Some people follow the recipe and some people go off on their own and change everything (shout out to my friend Natali)! I cast my vote for enthusiastic self expression !

The fruits of my (changing) labour :

Winnie the Pooh and Rabbit Have Cake

Some honey for Pooh, some tart lemon for Rabbit, together they have cake. Or, if you don’t have a taste for whimsical you could call it Lemon Poppy Seed Cupcakes.

Ingredients

2 small organic lemons

4 large eggs

1 cup of honey

2 cups almond flour

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

2 tablespoons of poppy seeds

 Instructions

Boil the lemons whole for 30 to 45 minutes, or until soft. Yes the whole thing, peel and all (thus organic lemons).

Cool the lemons, then cut open and remove seeds. Place lemons in a food processor and blend until smooth.

Add eggs, honey,almond flour, salt, baking powder and poppy seeds and pulse until well combined.

Scoop a generous 1/4 cup of batter into each  paper lined cup in a 12 cup muffin tin.

Bake at 375 °F for 10 minutes, rotate pan and bake for 10 to 15 minutes more (or until done).

 

If you are feeling decadent, some lemon cream icing would be lovely !

 

2 thoughts on “Change Everything

    Plough Monday said:
    March 24, 2016 at 8:25 pm

    A cake, a poem, a row of turnips, a life…I’m with you. Change is good. But be it always slower, wider, deeper, bolder, nakeder.

Leave a Reply

