Art or Science

Posted on Updated on

A few days ago I caught myself almost saying to someone : ” You know, I used to be a scientist”. I didn’t say it, thankfully, because then I would have been half guilty of what she was doing, which was trying to bully me into accepting her opinion because of her position of “authority” (Yeah, it was my doctor. Damn I hate when they do that. Sorry, mini rant has passed). What bothers me now though, was that I thought “used to be”. Do you ever stop being something ? If I’m not getting payed to do something do I loose the title ? If I pursue Art am I leaving Science behind ?

I firmly believe that when you learn to use a tool you not only learn the skill of manipulation of said tool, but that you learn to see the world anew; you learn to see where that tool can be used. Science is a beautiful tool. Art is a beautiful tool too. But,

the division into two commonly conceals far more than it reveals. Thinking in terms of twofold oppositions makes it difficult to notice the existence of options other than the two proposed.

Art or Science? I’d like to find the midpoint; the space between the two choices; the centre which holds both in balance. What would that look like ?

 

On a more practical note …

Science in the kitchen:

IMG_6510

My SCOBY (symbiotic community of bacteria and yeast) that gives us water kefir.  Yummy !

IMG_6509

More yeast in action, Maillard reactions, and a bunch of other chemistry (aka bread).

IMG_6512

An emulsion of cocoa butter, avocado oil, beeswax and water. Yes, you can make your own moisturizer !

8 thoughts on “Art or Science

    polychromeannie said:
    February 19, 2015 at 1:23 pm

    How do you get your grains so big in the Kefir??? I have tried everything and I only get a handful that plump up. They multiply like rabbits and do their job well, but are a pain to strain!

      nicoleaugust responded:
      February 19, 2015 at 1:40 pm

      Can’t say for sure. I’ve noticed using maple syrup makes for smaller grains. Mostly I use a mix of organic white sugar and a bit of whole sugar cane.

        polychromeannie said:
        February 19, 2015 at 1:52 pm

        Huh interesting, well I use white sugar and whole cane (when i can) however I do use a bit of molasses because I only have distilled water to drink… maybe it reacts the same to that as maple syrup?

      nicoleaugust responded:
      February 19, 2015 at 4:49 pm

      We have very hard water. I’m told Kefir likes minerals. Sometimes people put a piece of clean eggshell in the mix.

        polychromeannie said:
        February 21, 2015 at 4:21 pm

        …. hmmm that is a cool idea, I will try that. Thank you!

    DM said:
    March 13, 2015 at 5:18 pm

    looking @ that picture of the loaf of bread makes me want to do a little baking yet today. nothing like the smell of freshly baked bread..told my wife that it is aromatherapy at it’s finest 🙂 DM

      nicoleaugust responded:
      March 13, 2015 at 6:04 pm

      Yep, the smell of bread is the best thing in the world! Can you believe I actually don’t eat it ?! I have celiacs. Everyone else in the house is happy though !

        DM said:
        March 13, 2015 at 6:12 pm

        that is too bad… just so you know, you did inspire me to do something in the kitchen/ decided to make a batch of soft pretzels..still get the smell of baking bread/ yeast and do a little kneading in the bread bowl 😉

Leave a Reply

